Register globals

Read important announcements about Group-Office here

Moderator: Developers

mschering
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8154
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: The Netherlands - Den Bosch
Contact:

Register globals

Postby mschering » Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:09 am

I want to get something out of the world here :D
I came across several topics where people say that register_globals should be on for GO.
This is not correct. GO works fine with both register_globals on or off.
I always develop with register_globals=off so that's probably the best setting.
Best regards,

Merijn Schering
Intermesh
User avatar
dkittell
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Postby dkittell » Fri Jul 22, 2005 2:28 pm

Thank you for the clarification
David Kittell
Owner / Developer
Kittell.net
User avatar
lonesomewalker
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:15 am
Location: everywhere
Contact:

Postby lonesomewalker » Mon Jun 26, 2006 2:25 pm

LOL, you must be joking:

Register globals: Fatal error: register_globals is enabled in php.ini. Group-Office will not run properly with this setting enabled.

Because of a fatal error in your system setup the installation can't continue. Please fix the errors above first.


How to fix that???
User avatar
dkittell
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Postby dkittell » Mon Jun 26, 2006 3:19 pm

I fixed it to force GO to run in PHP5 instead of PHP4 but that may not be the end all say all fix
David Kittell
Owner / Developer
Kittell.net
mschering
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8154
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: The Netherlands - Den Bosch
Contact:

Postby mschering » Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:03 am

You must set register_globals=off in php.ini
Best regards,



Merijn Schering

Intermesh
User avatar
lonesomewalker
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:15 am
Location: everywhere
Contact:

Postby lonesomewalker » Sat Jul 01, 2006 9:52 am

Yes, i know, how to fix that and where.

But what do i do, if i need register globals ON???

It was a nice peace of software, until somebody had the GREAT idea for register globals OFF.

And please, don't say, we do this for security...
User avatar
dkittell
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Postby dkittell » Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:03 am

If you run both PHP4 and PHP5 you can put a .htaccess file in the specific folder for GO that has a line like

Code: Select all

AddType application/x-httpd-php5 .php

This will force any subfolder to run in PHP5 and force register globals off. This is how I'm running GO because I have a few scripts that I havn't fully migrated to PHP5 yet
David Kittell
Owner / Developer
Kittell.net
User avatar
lonesomewalker
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:15 am
Location: everywhere
Contact:

Postby lonesomewalker » Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:10 am

And what do i do when i have developed my own modules for GO, and they need RG=on ? ? ?

I hate it when you have a VERY nice peace of software, and then it becomes total buggy...

For example 2.13: it is much better than the 2.15 FINAL8

I like it if the programmers add further modules and ideas, but then they have to be STABLE (not the code, the functionality!).

I have 4 companies who need groupware, but actually i won't install GO for them (not community, the pro).

1 rule every good programmer has to follow:

Check the usability from the new version to the old version.

This means, everything from the old version has to work in the new version, otherwise all your customers have to re-learn...
(and you can be sure, no management will spend money for a neverending story!)
User avatar
dkittell
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Postby dkittell » Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:20 am

I tend to agree with your logic. I know that relearning Photoshop's menus are not fun when you get use to it similar in this case.
I know it doesn't help much but you can put the htaccess file in the /go/ folder (or whereever you installed at) that has

Code: Select all

AddType application/x-httpd-php5 .php
and then for the modules that need PHP4 (ie RG) you can put a different htaccess file in

Code: Select all

AddType application/x-httpd-php4 .php

A pain I know but that works for now
David Kittell
Owner / Developer
Kittell.net
mschering
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8154
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: The Netherlands - Den Bosch
Contact:

Postby mschering » Mon Jul 03, 2006 8:59 am

Why do you think 2.13 is better then 2.15?
Best regards,



Merijn Schering

Intermesh
olemsa
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 4:00 pm

php4

Postby olemsa » Thu Jul 06, 2006 4:03 pm

but what do you do if you only have php4 on your server? and no access to the php.ini file?
User avatar
dkittell
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Postby dkittell » Tue Jul 11, 2006 12:29 pm

Most hosting providers are nice enough to change the value for you, but it depends on the type of service you have.
David Kittell
Owner / Developer
Kittell.net
User avatar
lonesomewalker
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:15 am
Location: everywhere
Contact:

Postby lonesomewalker » Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:16 pm

Intermesh wrote:Why do you think 2.13 is better then 2.15?


There were too many changes, which haven't been done step by step.
They've been made from one version to another.
As a result, too many bugs come up.

I'm waiting for the REAL FINAL of 2.15... 8)


Lonesome Walker
User avatar
dkittell
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: php4

Postby dkittell » Tue Oct 24, 2006 7:24 am

olemsa wrote:but what do you do if you only have php4 on your server? and no access to the php.ini file?


I posted it in a different, more recent, page (http://www.group-office.com/forum/viewt ... t=htaccess)

.htaccess
php_flag register_globals off

If your server allows htaccess files this will help.
David Kittell
Owner / Developer
Kittell.net
mschering
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8154
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: The Netherlands - Den Bosch
Contact:

Postby mschering » Tue Oct 31, 2006 1:51 pm

Support for register_globals=on will be back In the final release of 2.16 which will arrive very soon now.
It's also back in current CVS.
Best regards,



Merijn Schering

Intermesh

Return to “Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron