[partial-solved]3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Get help from the community here.

Moderator: Developers

mm-barabba
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Italia

[partial-solved]3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby mm-barabba » Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:49 pm

I have 3.6.11 installed via sourceforge in a Debian server
everything work goog but ...

If i work in a lan with HTTP
-winXP - firefox 3.6.13 - flash 10.1
-Debian Squeeze - iceweasel 3.6.13 - flash 10.1 & 10.2 preview

i can upload file and the log module say :

Code: Select all

13-12-2010 10:16	Updated Immagini	Admin	Folder
13-12-2010 10:16	Added debian-logo-vertical.gif	Admin	File
13-12-2010 10:15	Deleted SpinoGenovese.jpg	Admin	File
13-12-2010 10:13	Updated Immagini	Admin	Folder
13-12-2010 10:13	Added SpinoGenovese.jpg	Admin	File
13-12-2010 10:13	Deleted SpinoGenovese.jpg	Admin	File
13-12-2010 10:13	Updated Immagini	Admin	Folder
13-12-2010 10:13	Added SpinoGenovese.jpg	Admin	File
it be ok

if i work from home with HTTP
-Debian Squeeze - iceweasel 3.6.13 - flash 10.1 & 10.2 preview

i can move,rename,delete at the files stored , but i can't upload new.
the log module say :

Code: Select all

13-12-2010 21:16	Updated Immagini	Admin	Folder
and lost the upload.

It worked in earlier versions.

What i can do ?
Last edited by mm-barabba on Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:03 am, edited 3 times in total.
GoAlways
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 4:41 am

Re: 3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby GoAlways » Tue Dec 14, 2010 3:04 am

Hi, I am curious, "If HTTP on the work network is working, have you tried to use HTTPS from the work network to check and see if the issue is realated to HTTPS settings in your Web Server?". If HTTPS did now work both inside and outside your company, I would start by checking the web server's conf file for your Group-Office site. For myself, the virtual host's file is in /etc/httpd/conf.d directory (this can vary depending on how your web server is configured). Then comparing VirtualHost settings for "ServerName [fqdn]:80" to "ServerName [fqdn]:443". It may help if you could provide a bit more detail, for example, whether the file is being loaded into a shared folder, or your own "Personal" file area.
mm-barabba
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Italia

Re: 3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby mm-barabba » Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:11 am

I know my server is not perfectly . :(

It work just for me, 'cause i'm my company . :D so i'm the only user and admin too.

The file are uploaded in personal folder with non sharing ( i'm alone)

i've to check some file config, sure but i made another test.
I try with HTTPS in a local LAN with the IP of the machine : HTTPS://192.168.1.101
and the problem of upload persist.
Usualy i use HTTP://192.168.1.101

So i think the problem isen't in the adress normaly when i'm out : HTTPS://myserver.no-ip.com or HTTPS://static_IP

i will update later , now i'm busy.

EDIT: i stared many years ago with version 2 and it's the first time i see that, it worked until 3.6.8.

RE-EDIT. in this server runs other php web-apps like wordpress-drupal-mediawiky-webcalendar and more , all without problem.
mm-barabba
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Italia

Re: 3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby mm-barabba » Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm

I try with some new fresh install in the same server .

3.5.40 -it's ok

3.6.5 -upload in HTTPS doesn't work
3.6.8 -upload in HTTPS doesn't work
3.6.11 -upload in HTTPS doesn't work

i think the uploader appear different.

Someone use GO in HTTPS ? -Have you found this problem ?

thank in advance & be patient
rosetta
Group-Office Expert
Group-Office Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:25 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: 3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby rosetta » Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:00 pm

As far as I know there is a problem with Flash (which the new upload stuff is based on) and self signed SSL certificates.

I have tested uploading to a GO server that use a StartCom Free SSL Certificate and have no upload problems. (http://cert.startcom.org/)
mm-barabba
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Italia

Re: 3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby mm-barabba » Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:08 am

I havecacertSSL certificate.

so what i have to do ?

maybe the uploader will change in the future ?
rosetta
Group-Office Expert
Group-Office Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:25 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: 3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby rosetta » Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:49 pm

I think you have two options :

1) Turn off the flash uploader in config.php (Add $config['disable_flash_upload']=true;)

2) Get another certificate*

*Cacert certificates seems to be treated as self signed certficates by most browsers, so you should get/buy a "proper" certificate.

As mentioned above I have found that the StartCom Free SSL certificate works fine.

Hope you get it sorted!
mm-barabba
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Italia

Re: 3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby mm-barabba » Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:59 pm

thank's a lot.

i will try with the first, but java doesn't work good in my debian.

about the certificate i go to reed the documentation.
mm-barabba
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Italia

Re: 3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby mm-barabba » Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:29 pm

there is option n°3 :

3) fix the uploader to accept SSL certificate by cacert

:lol:

now i'm testing java and in win work fine, but i don't like it.
In debian java works worst
mm-barabba
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Italia

Re: 3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby mm-barabba » Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:56 am

I try upload with java but the plugin doesn't work in iceweasel 3.6.13.
Now i use it with Opera 11.1156 and i'ts no so bad.

But i prefere the old flash uploader it's more faster.

there is some probability of make it work again ?
rosetta
Group-Office Expert
Group-Office Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:25 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: [partial-solved]3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby rosetta » Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:53 am

As far as I know the problem lies with Flash - not GO.

Flash will not accept self signed certificates ( or Cacert certificates ).

You will either have to get Adobe to change the Flash player :wink: , or get another SSL certificate.
peter_stirnberg
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:57 am

Re: [partial-solved]3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby peter_stirnberg » Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:57 am

For me there's only option 3 as mentioned above, so please do anything to fix this Merijn. Background: My customers are sitting behind a couple of proxies and firewalls (big big company). I have an Thawte cert installed but this (big big) companie's proxies and firewalls only trust Versign Certs. So I have only the option to disable the flash upload dialog in config.php which I have done. But this results in partially errors such es some users can't upload at e. g. 15:20 but 5 minutes later at 15:25 it works and another 5 minutes later it is blocked again.
Is there any possibility to reactivate the Java File Upload Dialog from the 3.5.x version? This could be a temporary failover solution?

Best regards
Peter
rosetta
Group-Office Expert
Group-Office Expert
Posts: 546
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 2:25 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: [partial-solved]3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby rosetta » Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:16 pm

peter_stirnberg wrote: I have an Thawte cert installed but this (big big) companie's proxies and firewalls only trust Versign Certs.
How can you customers use GO at all via HTTPS if the above is true?
mm-barabba
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Italia

Re: [partial-solved]3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby mm-barabba » Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:26 pm

but when i try a new fresh install of 3.5.40
the same version of flashplugin works....

So i don't use much the uploader and at the moment the rarely upload i can use java.

maybe in the future i will try to add a certificate.
can theme survive togheter (2 or more ssl certificate) ?
mm-barabba
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Italia

Re: [partial-solved]3.6.11 no upload file via HTTPS

Postby mm-barabba » Sun Dec 19, 2010 12:35 am

The attachement upload doesn't work too.

If i want to stay with flash option in true, i've to upload the attachment in a dir to module FILE
and in the mail use theme to the usual flash direct uploader.

just only when i'm in HTTPS, at the moment this mix could be ok ( via HTTP flash work better)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests