Module creation howto

Post modules, themes or any other code you want to share with the community.

Moderator: Developers

rz
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:09 pm

Module creation howto

Postby rz » Mon Apr 24, 2006 8:19 am

Hi !

I've created 3 modules, and i want to group them in a "global" module (like the admin one)

How can i do that ?
User avatar
dkittell
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Postby dkittell » Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:46 pm

Once you have them designed go ahead and add them to the modules directory in GO and then they should showup and you can check the box for Admin
David Kittell
Owner / Developer
Kittell.net
User avatar
dkittell
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Postby dkittell » Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:47 pm

If you need an example I can send you one.
David Kittell
Owner / Developer
Kittell.net
mschering
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8219
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: The Netherlands - Den Bosch
Contact:

Postby mschering » Mon Apr 24, 2006 1:58 pm

I think what he meant was to be able to add multiple groups of modules. This is not possible. You would have to make the 3 modules into one module and do the navigation inside your module.
Best regards,

Merijn Schering
Intermesh
User avatar
dkittell
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 808
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

Postby dkittell » Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:55 pm

hmm... yeah I guess that makes more sense :-)
David Kittell
Owner / Developer
Kittell.net
rz
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:09 pm

Postby rz » Wed Apr 26, 2006 6:55 am

Intermesh wrote:I think what he meant was to be able to add multiple groups of modules. This is not possible. You would have to make the 3 modules into one module and do the navigation inside your module.
Yup that exactly what i want !
Too bad i can't have something like the admin menu....
Tirs
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 11:28 am
Location: Barcelona (Catalonia, Spain)
Contact:

About module creation... any examples?

Postby Tirs » Thu Nov 30, 2006 2:31 pm

Hello! Still trying both the Community and the Professional version, writing a report for the PMs, etc. One of the things my boss wants to know is, how easy is to write new modules and modify existing ones. I am trying to write a new module and I got the "developers guide"; in that document a "sample" module "with a lot of comments" is mentioned, but I cannot find it. Has it been removed from the product? Is it available as a separate download? Is it hidden in some directory I overlooked? Although the module writing and installing process is pretty straightforward, I would like to have the "sample with comments" module to see if I am overlooking something. Anyone knows where can I find it?

Thank you!
_____
|!rs
mschering
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8219
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: The Netherlands - Den Bosch
Contact:

Postby mschering » Fri Dec 01, 2006 9:19 am

This module is very outdated and therefor not included. I wil update it soon. I also created a code generation script that will create common pages based on a database layout.

The steps are:

Create table ex_items with fields

Run generatecode.php ex_items

It will create language vars, a page with a sortable table where you can add and delete items. And a page to modify a row from ex_items.

It will also create the class functions add_item(), delete_item etc.
Best regards,

Merijn Schering
Intermesh
angelodi
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 7:05 am

Postby angelodi » Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:02 am

Intermesh wrote:... I also created a code generation script that will create common pages based on a database layout.
...
Wow...sounds very interessting!

Regards Angelo
mschering
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8219
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: The Netherlands - Den Bosch
Contact:

Postby mschering » Fri Dec 01, 2006 3:54 pm

It's in cvs: lib/scripts/generatecode.php
Best regards,

Merijn Schering
Intermesh
smccoy4
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 6:17 pm

Re: Module creation howto

Postby smccoy4 » Wed Jul 08, 2009 6:30 pm

I mainly just want to create a module that will open a timetracking website that I have created. i would like for it to open the website inside of groupoffice similar to the way phpbb3 opens. There is no login info required for the site though. I have created the module but it is not showing up in the tabs. What am I doing wrong:

MainPanel.js

Code: Select all

GO.moduleManager.addModule('Timetracking', GO.panel.IFrameComponent, {
	title : TimeTracking,
	iconCls : 'go-tab-icon-timetracking',
	url:GO.settings.modules.timetracking.url+'redirect.php',
	border:false
});
I have also included a redirect.php file similar to the phpbb3 file and a scripts.txt file.

scripts.txt - modules/timetracking/Mainpanel.js

Someone please help!
mschering
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8219
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 1:06 pm
Location: The Netherlands - Den Bosch
Contact:

Re: Module creation howto

Postby mschering » Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:34 pm

Did you turn on $config['debug]=true; in config.php?
Best regards,

Merijn Schering
Intermesh

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest